ORDER ONLINE!Food & Alcohol Curbside Pickup

Ready to order?
Click here to call Cafe Coyote!

Traditional Mexican Food In the Heart of Old Town San Diego


5 types of tequila and two tequila categories

Dear Coyote Patrons and Tequila Lovers,

Today I will teach you about the 5 types of tequila and two tequila categories. There are only two categories of tequila, tequila 100 percent agave consisting entirely from agave based sugars and Tequila that consists of 51% agave and 49 % other sugars. The last category is generally known as “mixto”. Both of these categories need to be distilled twice by law.  Cafe Coyote Old Town Mexican food offers you fun and enjoyment at its best.

There are 5 types of tequilas:

Blanco Tequila: White or silver tequilas are clear and not influenced by the aging process, although some producers “rest” their tequilas in wood or stainless steels holding tanks for up to 45 days before bottling. 100 percent agave silver (tequilas) retains the natural agave aromas and flavors. They are earthy and bold but can also be sweet and smooth. This tequila is considered and aperitif and is the purest of all.

Gold Tequilas: Because of its color, many assume that it is an aged spirit. Technically this tequila does not have to be aged. Most gold tequilas acquire their color from artificial flavoring and coloring, primarily with caramel coloring and glycerin.

Tequila Reposado: Reposed (rested) tequilas are aged for at least a minimum of two months to almost a year in oak tanks or barrels. Coloring and flavoring agents are permissible. Reposado tequilas range in hues from a very pale straw color to a deep gold and are excellent for sipping.

Añejo Tequilas: Añejo (aged) tequilas are aged for at least one year in government sealed oak barrels that are not to exceed 600 liters. Aging tequila transforms the spirit that once came out clear into a mature and mellow one. Its aromatic profile is oakier and less earthy. Añejo tequilas are great digestives are a great alternative for dessert.

Extra Añejo: These tequilas are the most costly because of the time they spend aging in a barrel. To be called extra añejo white tequila must age in a barrel for a minimum of three years. In general these tequilas are a dark amber color and tend to be sweet in flavor. Many people compare them to a fine Cognac or a single malt Scotch.

I hope that you have learned something new about the art of tequila production. Visit us every Thursday for our weekly “Tequila Thursday” to taste great tequila and explore the tequila world.


Mario Marquez

Tequila Ambassador

Café Coyote , Old Town San Diego

Post a comment